The Developmental ladder refers to the developmental skills, or milestones marking a major turning point in the life of a child.  Each step layers new abilities onto those of prior stages.


These basic milestones lay the foundation for all of our learning and development.  Children without special needs often master these skills relatively easily. Children with challenges often don’t, not necessarily because they can’t, but because their biological challenges make the mastery more difficult. By understanding these skills and the factors that influence them and by working direction on them, caregivers, educators, and therapists often can help even those children with what are thought to be chronic disorders master many of them. Appropriate emotional experiences during each of the six developmental phases help develop critical cognitive, social, emotional, language, and motor skills, as well as a sense of self.


To read more about these levels, click the button below.

Developmental Ladder

  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Instagram
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Twitter Clean

Follow us


© 2014 by Dr. Jennie Trocchio